A1 Keep  
A2 Less  
A3 Familiar  
A4 Unter  
A5 Old Thought  
B1 Snippet  
B2 Kind  
B3 Pause  
B4 More  

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Erased Tapes Records Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – Erased Tapes Records Ltd.
  • Mixed At – Durton Studio
  • Recorded At – Durton Studio
  • Mastered At – ET Mastering
  • Lacquer Cut At – Dubplates & Mastering


  • Artwork – Benjamin Maus, Torsten Posselt
  • Liner Notes – Nils Frahm
  • Mastered By – Emil Thomsen
  • Mastered By [Lacquer Cut], Remastered By [Re-digitalisation] – Lupo*
  • Mixed By – Nils Frahm
  • Recorded By – Nils Frahm


The liner notes from Nils Frahm are written as a letter ("Dear beloved listener,...") in which the creation of the albums music and its title is explained. "Felt" was used by Nils to dampen his piano for nighttime playing in respect for his neighbours. But it turned out that Nils fell in love with the quietness and special beauty of this piano sound.

Recorded and mixed by me at "Durton Studio" 

Lacquer cut & re-digitalisation at D&M

Comes with digital download code

℗ & © 2011 Erased Tapes Records Ltd.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout: 94009E2
  • Barcode: 4050486051443
  • Label Code: LC 15952

Nils Frahm - Felt LP

  • Felt is the historic first LP that Nils Frahm released on Erased Tapes and it wouldn't be an overstatement to say that it has now reached legendary status. 

    It heralded a new era for piano music, Nils' innovation to place felt on the hammers of his piano (out of respect for his neighbors) created such a soft sound that it allowed the mechanical movement that preceded each note to come through.

    Suddenly this effect was heard across the board from producers as diverse as Helios and Rauelsson to Deaf Center's Otto A. Totland and Rafael Anton Irrisarri. 

    A few years later Nils would release a sheet music book with select tracks from Felt notated and a introductory chapter giving directions on how to gerry rig one's own piano to the same effect. 

    Most importantly for any true fan of Nils', this album contains studio versions of tracks that can be found on Nils' most beloved release, the live album Spaces. Tracks like 'Familiar', 'Unter' and 'More' can be heard with subtly different emotion and timing when compared to their live counterparts. 

    Felt is a very important album in the history of not only Nil's Frahms career, but the entire Neo Classical movement. It inspired countless musicians and helped propel Erased Tapes to the forefront of the scene, securing their place as the go-to label for the best in the genre.